top of page

Volume 1:13

The journey of the Central Suns into their Mother's womb--an aspect of the "Evolution of the Universal Kosmos"--after a Maha-Manvantara is not outlined in The Secret Doctrine. Even the "highest minds" are not allowed to "speculate" on the subject. When the Maha-Pralaya commences, the Central Suns are withdrawn back to the central point (the 3rd Logos) to continue their travels. But this does not necessarily mean that their attendant suns can continue consciously. Central Suns and their attendant suns are affected differently by the Maha-Pralaya depending on their part in the composition of the Mundane Egg.

The rather vague term "Central Sun" receives further definition in The Secret Doctrine 2:241. H.P. Blavatsky explained that the term "Central Sun" referred to the highest of the four types of suns. The first type of sun is the "Central Spiritual Sun." The second type of sun is the "polar Sun." The third type of sun is the "equatorial Sun." The fourth type of sun is the "spirit of our visible sun" which rules over a solar system. Cosmically, the Central Spiritual Sun and the Polar Sun correspond to Atman, the Equatorial Sun corresponds to Buddhi and Higher Manas, and the Sun of our solar system corresponds to Manas and Kama. But this classification still remains vague unless one turns to G. de Purucker's diagram in Fountain-Source on page 437. For the seven layers of the Mundane Egg ruled over by the central point, the Central Spiritual Sun is the Paramatman. The central point tinctures its essence. On this tincturing process, H.P. Blavatsky wrote in Collected Writings 12:525 that the "primordial triangle" (meaning the immaculate white disk, the dull black ground, and the central point as the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Logos) reflected itself in the "highest of the lower seven" and then disappeared into "Silence and Darkness." Below the Central Spiritual Sun is the Polar Sun or Adi-Buddhi. The Polar Sun is at the head of the Mundane Egg in G. de Purucker's diagram. Underneath the Polar Sun is the Equatorial Sun or Mahat. It is classified as the Equatorial Sun since it is the most direct sun to shine over the equator, or Cosmic Kama, of the Mundane Egg. Finally, our Solar Sun is at the equator of the Mundane Egg in Cosmic Kama. Thus, the Central Sun is Paramatman while its attendant suns are the Polar Sun, the Equatorial Sun, and our Solar Sun.

Each one of these types of suns in the Mundane Egg is affected differently by the commencement of the Maya-Pralaya. As H.P. Blavatsky said in The Secret Doctrine 2:69, the "Cosmic Pralaya is for things visible, not for the Arupa, formless world." The fourth type of sun, our Solar Sun, drops out of the conscious evolutionary scheme of Nature, but the first type of sun, the Central Sun, continues. Even for a Dhyani-Chohan of solar status in Cosmic Kama, the consciousness of a Central Sun in Paramatman in the Maha-Pralaya is nirvanic. Therefore, H.P. Blavatsky pointed to the "mysteries beyond those boundaries that separate the milliards of Solar systems from the 'Central Sun'" and instead focused on the birth and destruction of solar and planetary systems in the Great Age.


H.P. Blavatsky, Collected Writings, Vol.12 (Wheaton: The Theosophical Publishing House, 1980).

H.P. Blavatsky, The Secret Doctrine (Pasadena: Theosophical University Press, 2019).

G. de Purucker, Fountain-Source of Occultism (Pasadena: Theosophical University Press, 1974).

(Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash)


bottom of page